Paths for loading functions from a python "library"

Question: I’ve been working on the “datacube” library.

I’ve never made a “library” before in python, so I’m a bit of a noob, and I’m a bit confused about paths.

In my library, I keep the code for the class in a file datacube.py

If I am working inside the repo directory, I can do the following: from datacube import Datacube

I have now also linked the repo directory to ~/lib on the JH (which is by default in the path for all users BTW)

However, working from outside the repo folder, I need to run from datacube.datacube import Datacube

Is there some way to be able to load the library using from datacube import Datacube when I am working outside the repo?

Thanks!

1 Like

Nice library!

There may be some trick to deal with the paths, but I think ultimately even in the short term, I think your best solution is to make your library pip-installable by adding a minimal setup.py. It sounds like a lot of extra work, but actually isn’t.

Here’s all you need to provide (source):

from setuptools import setup

setup(name='funniest',
      version='0.1',
      description='The funniest joke in the world',
      url='http://github.com/storborg/funniest',
      author='Flying Circus',
      author_email='flyingcircus@example.com',
      license='MIT',
      packages=['funniest'],
      zip_safe=False)

You can still create symlink the project folder with the installed version by using pip install . --editable.

But let’s say that I want to use the gitlab “bleeding edge” code in my notebooks that I pull to ~/lib.

Is there a solution for that?

Even then I recommend to install code not just in an arbitrary folder, but somewhere, where pip recognizes this, e.g. a shared conda environment.

This you can easily achieve installing bleeding edge code with pip install git+https://gitlab.tudelft.nl/steelelab/datacube.git@master (the part after @ can be any reference that git recognizes.

you’re strict! i’ll have a look at it