"Scripting" vs. "Programming" in python, and the relation to Jupyter Notebooks

Hi all,

I’ve been teaching now for several years with Jupyter notebooks, and also using them myself. In my efforts to convince more people to use notebooks, I have encountered a lot of confusion about when / how to use them, and also why people should use them at all and not just use “scripting” and an “IDE”.

I’ve spent some time thinking about this and have collected some thoughts on this, and
in particular even what the word “scripting” means, which I would like to share here. Any thoughts / comments / discussion is welcome!

Cheers,
Gary

Scripting vs. coding

What is scripting? I was trying to explain this to the TAs of my first year python course. To try to help, I did some googling, but then after my google searching, I was myself even more confused about how to define “scripting” and how it is different than “programming” or “coding”…and it seems it’s not so easy to define…

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/20829541/scripting-vs-coding

Some of this is also historical. In the olden days, there was a clear difference: “bash” was scripting, “C” was programming. Interpreted was “scripting”, compiled was “programming”.

But developments in high level interpreted languages combined with massively faster computers has changed all of that in practice. So what is a good description for the difference between “scripting” and “programming” for python?

Here are some of my thoughts:

I would use the word “scripting” for the case in which I have a single flat python file that I run non-interactively by executing it in one go on the python interpreter:

$ python  my_script.py

It would take inputs and produce outputs. You could run it by pushing a button in spyder, or by using the command line.

A script of course contains lines of python code

What things would I not use the word “script” for?