Starting with the cluster and Python/Jupyter

Hi everyone,

I would like to start using the cluster for python / ipython notebook simulations, however my understanding is that some things need to be set up first (I have no experience using a cluster before).

I have already created an hpc05 account and went through the very first steps of logging in and transferring files (PUTTY and WinSCP installed). I mainly used the hpcwiki however I could not find any information on what needs to be set in order to be able to run ipynb on the cluster.

If there is anyone with experience on that I would be grateful for some help!

1 Like

Hi @mkounalakis!

Can you describe more about your planned computation? Usually one uses the cluster in order to benefit from running everything in parallel. However a single jupyter notebook is nearly the opposite—it’s interactive, so a lot of time it is idle (all the time while you are implementing new code/viewing results, etc).

Typically we use a separate package like ipyparallel or dask to distribute tasks over the cluster. We do launch these packages from a notebook.

1 Like

Yes certainly!

I numerically solve a 2D Fokker-Planck equation which is basically a partial differential equation containing a partial derivative with respect to time and partial derivatives with respect to x and y. I discretise the equation in the spatial dimensions (N by M grid) so I have a system of N by M ordinary differential equations which are solved using a python ode solver. The result I get is the probability density P(t,x,y) for all t, x and y, which I can use to calculate <x(t)> for example.
(This can successfully run on my laptop, although I need to severely constrain my grid size due to memory issues).